Sacred Sources - Live Forever

Picture of front coverTitle: Sacred Sources 1 - Live Forever
Format: 1CD
Company: Guts & Grace / Polydor
Ordering Number: 521 321-2
Matrix Numbers: 521 321-2 01 /
Country: Germany
Year: 1993
  1. Jimi Hendrix    Message to love    4:56
  2. Jimi Hendrix    Fire    3:47
  3. Jimi Hendrix    I don't live today    5:10
  4. Marvin Gaye    Joy    5:14
  5. Marvin Gaye    What's going on    5:50
  6. Bob Marley    Natural mystic    4:49
  7. Bob Marley    Exodus    6:58
  8. Stevie Ray Vaughan    Riviera Paradise    8:41
  9. John Coltrane    Ogunde    5:27
Carlos Santana is unusual both for the passion of his music making, and also for the voraciousness of his listening. Carlos is a music junkie. He collects tapes from street musicians and jazz icons alike - anything, as Carlos puts it, "from the heart, for the heart." His knowledge is extensive - as is his collection - and devoid of pretention.

We get the benefit of both with Live Forever. The first release on Carlos' Guts & Grace label, it's also the first in his personally curated anthology series, Sacret Sources. With Live Forever, Carlos decided to compile outstanding concert performances from the last tours of Jimi Hendrix, Marvin Gaye, Bob Marley, Stevie Ray Vaughan and John Coltrane.

With the exception of Marvin's "Joy", none of this music has ever been released in its entirety. About a minute of "Ogunde" and two minutes of "I don't live today" have been available on CD and video respectively. All the rest is only available on this collection. In several cases, the music was entrusted directly to Carlos by the artists' heirs. In others, fellow collectors sent tapes, which Carlos the cleared with the relevant estates. And finally, in all cases, the artists' record companies gave their gracious permission for this release to occur.

The recording quality is occasionally far from perfect - several selections were mastered from mixing-board cassettes - but the emotional qualities are unassailable throughout.

Since Carlos has more great anthology ideas, there will be more volumes of Sacred Sources. Live Forever makes a spectacular beginning.
- Davitt Sigerson, Polydor Records    [taken from the liner notes]


I'm very grateful to be in a position to present this bouquet of colors and sound. Like a hummingbird's wings, one wing is enthusiasm and the other is vision / imagination.

This endeavor would still be a whim, a wish and a dream if it weren't for the glorious perseverance of my brother and friend, Bruce Kuhlman.
- Carlos Santana    [taken from the liner notes]

[home]        [index samplers]        [index artists]        [e-mail]        Created: 12.11.2000        Last update: 12.11.2000

The big note: Like most of you I, too, have a regular life and have to go to work each day, so do not expect updates on a daily basis, nor a prompt reply to e-mails. Just give me a little bit of time. And then there's always the question of violation of copyrights. If you think that my pages contain material which I'm not allowed to include because of its protected status, please drop me an e-mail, and I will remove the doubtful parts. On the other hand I regard all material within my pages as protected by copyright laws, too, so please ask before you steal. I'm sure we can work something out.